FDNY Challenges - Lithium Ion High Energy Storage Facilities in NYC

This is a Citywide issue because these facilities are being placed in all five boroughs.

I am by no means an expert but the following are some thoughts about operational issues for the FDNY if one of these Lithium Ion Battery installations caught fire.

There has been alot of coverage in the news over the last year or so about Con Edison's use of Lithium Energy Battery installations throughtout NYC to store excess electricity generated during periuods of low demand and then feeding the power back into the grid during periods of peak demand. This seems to be largely a stop gap measure while demand increases due to electric vehicles and other measures designed to reduce emission of greenhouse gasses. Non carbon based supply increases from solar and wind sources is expected to lag behind demand because most of the new energy from these sources is produced in the Midwest and Northern states while increased demand occurs on the East coast. On Staten Island most of the news coverage has been about the siting of these facilities in residential areas but that coverage doesn't seem to have affected plans to implement these sites. According to the SI Advance, one site is operational in the Stapleton area and one is near completion on the South Shore at Hylan Blvd and Littlefield Ave. Construction of several other sites on Staten Island has also commenced.