Unnecessary radio messages

M

mmattyphoto

If the FDNY dispatchers sounded like every other dept. no would listen. just imagine if disp 330 now 126 talked in signals only.

tbendick

Administrator
Staff member
I am studying for LT, and have to say trying to remember all the 10-Codes and the sub codes is a real pain.  KISS.  Keep it Simple.

the point of 10-codes is to make comms faster.  "Ladder ? you are the FAST Truck" and "Ladder ? you are 10-XX" take up the same amount of time

We tell companies to monitor, simply because a lot of the time, they don't.

Unnecessary radio traffic?? Come on...

FAST Truck is as simple as you can get it. No need to make it a 10-code.

We have an inhouse code for notifying other agencies.

As far as, "did you get your run??" or "are you responding??" that's just complacency taking over, instead of doing it the proper way.
"Attention, Engine XXX, Respond, (insert borough here) Telephone Alarm, Box 4652, Walk and Don't Walk for a fire in a private dwelling. Engine XXX, acknowledge."

Until you have been on a platform, and dealt with what we have had to deal with on a consistent basis. You don't know what is, or what isn't "unnecessary".

FDNY150 said:
We tell companies to monitor, simply because a lot of the time, they don't.

After the first few officers got hooked up for missing a run they would be soon cured of this neglect.

When we were on the bells there were no acknowledgements and  the companies could be relied upon to be where they were supposed to be and do what was expected of them (i.e., respond).  You did not want to be in quarters when a broiling B.C. rolled up and demanded to know why you were in quarters and not at that last box!

Soon after the advent of the "voice-alarm" we started asking for "10-4's" from each responding unit.  That was the turning point at which dispatchers became nursemaids charged with seeing that everyone else did their duty.